Super Cover Lover

It is so easy to get sucked into the artwork on an LP, a strong point of the media frenzy on the supposed increase in vinyl sales. As I’ve spent the last 35 years looking at a wide range of records, through purchasing as a kid to working in record shops & my later years in distribution, I’ve seen thousands of covers ranging from the sublime to god damn awful.

I’ve been guilty of blind purchasing vinyl purely on the sleeve or label name, & I still sometimes use this method as it’s still fun to listen to a stack of mystery purchases & get the occasional pleasant suprise.

I purchased these 3 albums at the weekend as I knew the contents would stink, but as they were 10p each, I wanted to show examples of great design, band photo & font.

1st up is the Raymonde Singers Etcetera “Feelin'” , this is standard 60’s easy listening fare, boasting the usual suspects for covers including “By The Time I Get To Phoenix”, “Love Is Blue” & “The Sound Of Silence”. The cover on the other hand looks amazing, a kaleidoscopic feast of 60’s ladies in mini dresses with blissed out expressions on their faces, portraying a scene of some acid induced happening.

Easy listening
Raymonde Singers Etcetera – Feelin’

2nd on the agenda is Los 5 Del Este “Y Sus Exitos”, the photo of the band on the front cover promises the world, matching shoes & suits, surely this should hit the 60’s garage freakbeat mark, snarling guitars & vocals, a fuzz fest of greatness…sadly not. The sole track that hits the target is “Nada Todavia” (We Ain’t Got) Nothing Yet (a Blues Magoos cover).

And in 3rd place is Jose Larralde “Hombre”, a 1967 folk album from Argentina, I loved Jose’s magnificent mustache & high waist trousers, but was strangely drawn to the font used for the title of the album, another case of great font in the wrong place!

Leave a comment